Brownlow Medal Betting 2016

This is the Oscars of Australian sport and the greatest individual honour that can be received by an AFL player. The Brownlow Medal is awarded to the player who polls the most votes throughout the regular season and which is awarded by the umpires.

Named after Charlie Brownlow who played for Geelong and was a major contributor to the creation of the Victorian Football League, this award attracts the fanfare it deserves. It is the type of bet that attracts those have a firm interest in the game and who know their footy.

Awarded for the first time in 1924 to Geelong player Edward Greeves, there have since been 87 medal ceremonies with only few exceptions. It attracts a certain prestige and distinction as players awarded this very special accolade find themselves in the annals of sporting history.

Some of the game’s greats walk away with this prize of prizes. It has been awarded to phenomenal players like Haydn Bunton, Dick Reynolds, Bob Skilton, Ian Stewart, Gary Dempsey, Malcom Blight, Ross Glendinning, Brad Hardie, Gerard Healy and in recent years Adam Goodes, Chris Judd and Gary Ablett

A guide to Brownlow Medal betting

Throughout the season, at the end of each match, the three field umpires award the best player on the field with three votes, second best with two and third best with one.

At the Brownlow Medal night, the votes are read out. Players that receive disciplinary action by the tribunal are made ineligible for the award. However, in season 2016 the AFL has simplified the tribunal system, so that players found guilty of an offense but don’t miss a match will remain eligible.

Players that are found guilty of low-level offences will now receive fines, rather than the penalty of 125 points which the AFL hopes will ensure more players remain eligible.

With the votes being awarded by the field umpires, people’s opinions always vary on who should be awarded the votes for each game. For this reason, some of the results come as a surprise. is prepared for this and offers a broad range of markets for punting on the award, like head-to-head categories and overall winner.

Finding a winner

There are a few easy tips and tricks to seek out some value when it comes to backing the winner of this rare award. They include:

  • Look for players who have received votes in recent years (especially three-vote games).
  • Look for a player who will get the majority of the votes for his team.
  • It’s known as the “mid-fielders award”, so pick accordingly.
  • Choose a player that’s durable and doesn’t get injured a lot. There are hot rods in this code but they often don’t last the distance. Pick a quiet achiever and one who has an impact week-in-week-out.


Year Player Team Votes Recruited From
2005 Ben Cousins West Coast 20 East Fremantle
2006 Adam Goodes Sydney Swans 26 Horsham/Nth Ballarat U18
2007 Jimmy Bartel Geelong 29 Bell Park/Geelong U18
2008 Adam Cooney Western Bulldogs 24 West Adelaide (SA)
2009 Gary Ablett Geelong 30 Modewarre/Geelong U18
2010 Chris Judd Cartlon 30 Caulf Gram/Sandr U18
2011 Dane Swan Collingwood 34 Westmeadows/Calder U18
2012 Jobe Watson Essendon 30 Xavier Coll/Sandr U18
2013 Gary Ablett Gold Coast 28 Modewarre/Gellong U18
2014 Matt Priddis West Coast 26 Subiacotat
2015 Nathan Fyfe Fremantle 31 Claremont

Bet Now