Melbourne Cup Betting


It just happens to be the biggest race on the Australasian calendar. And possibly in the top ten races on the global calendar too. We all know it as ‘the race which stops a nation’. Well actually.. two nations if you include New Zealand.

Raced on that famous first Tuesday in November, the Melbourne Cup hasn’t actually changed a lot in terms of structure and stature over the years. It is the richest handicap in this part of the world (over A$6.2 million) and now draws the very best of international runners from across the globe.

The race goes right back to 1861, with Sydney trained Archer taking out the first two editions of the race. Over the following decades, some absolute legends of the Australian turf have won this prestigious event. Names such as: Carbine, Grand Flaneur, Phar Lap, Rising Fast, Rain Lover, Kiwi, Vintage Crop and more recently, three-time champion Makybe Diva.

Melbourne Cup 2016
Latest Melbourne Cup Odds 2016
Starts: 10/01/2016 3:00PM
Horse Name
Big Orange $15.00
Wicklow Brave $15.00
Signoff $17.00
Bondi Beach $21.00
Curren Mirotic $21.00
Exosphere $21.00
Idaho $21.00
Our Ivanhowe $21.00
Prince Of Penzance $21.00
Hartnell $26.00
Others +$26.00

*Odds subject to change

Most Recent Winners

Year Winner 2nd Place 3rd Place
2015 Prince Of Penzance Max Dynamite Criterion
2014 Protectionist Red Cadeaux Who Shot The Barman
2013 Fiorente Red Cadeaux Mount Athos
2012 Green Moon Fiorente Jakkalberry
2011 Dunaden Red Cadeaux Lucas Cranach
2010 Americain Maluckyday So You Think
2009 Shocking Crime Scene Mourilyan
2008 Viewed Bauer C’est La Guerre
2007 Efficient Purple Moon Mahler
2006 Delta Blues Pop Rock Maybe Better
2005 Makybe Diva On A Jeune Xcellent
2004 Makybe Diva Vinnie Roe Zazzman



Located in Melbourne’s western suburbs, the Flemington course is one of three premier venues for horse racing in the city.


This race starts from the top of the 1200 metre chute (straight six), so there is ample time for horses drawn wide to get across to a more favoured position.

The last 30 years have seen only 8 favourites come first, 4 come second and 2 come third. (14 out of 30).

This Years Runners

The race is due to be run Tuesday November 1st, 2016. Luxbet’s team of experts will assess the line-up closer to the time.