Caulfield Stakes


The Caulfield Stakes (known as the Yalumba Stakes since 1997), is a weight for age event raced over 2000 metres, and is on the same raceday card as the Caulfield Guineas.

It is considered a great tune-up for the WS Cox Plate held a fortnight later at Moonee Valley, due to the WFA conditions and similar distance.

This race has for many years only drawn smallish fields, but usually they contain some of the most elite horses from their era. Looking back through the history book, you’ll see names like Eurythmic, Bernborough, Kingston Town, Bonecrusher and Rough Habit on the list.


Most Recent Winners

Year Winner 2nd Place 3rd Place
2014 Fawkner Criterion Side Glance
2013 Atlantic Jewel Foreteller Super Cool
2012 Ocean Park Alcopop Sincero
2011 Descarado Avienus Lights Of Heaven
2010 So You Think Alcopop Whobegotyou
2009 Whobegotyou Heart Of Dreams Vision And Power
2008 Douro Valley Pompeii Ruler Guillotine
2007 Maldivian Miss Finland Anamato
2006 Casual Pass Pompeii Ruler El Segundo
2005 El Segundo Fields Of Omagh Confectioner
2004 Mummify Grand Armee Starcraft



Located in Melbourne’s near south eastern suburbs, the Caulfield racecourse is one of three premier venues for horse racing in the city.


Much like Flemington, the race starts just past the winning post via a small 2000 metre chute. There is a slight adjustment after 200 metres upon horses entering the back straight. There’s an 800 metre stretch to the first winding turn, before coming down the side alongside Queens Avenue, before entering into the home straight.

The last 30 years have seen 12 favourites come first, 8 come second and 3 come third. (23 out of 30).

This Years Runners

The race is due to be run Saturday October 10th, 2015. Luxbet’s team of experts will assess the line-up closer to the time.